Back to Top
Skip to main content

22nd Annual Conference on Fossil Energy Materials

22nd Annual Conference on Fossil Energy Materials 
July 8-10, 2008

Table of Contents

This report was prepared as an account of work sponsored by an agency of the United States Government. Neither the United States Government or any agency thereof, nor any of their employees, makes any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information, apparatus, product, or process disclosed, or represents that its use would not infringe privately owned rights. Reference herein to any specific commercial product, process, or service by trade name, trademark, manufacturer, or otherwise does not necessarily constitute or imply its endorsement, recommendation, or favoring by the United States Government or any agency thereof. The views and opinions of authors expressed herein do not necessarily state or reflect those of the United States Government or any agency thereof.


  • Introduction and Opening Remarks 
    Robert Romanosky, National Energy Technology Laboratory

Session 1

  • Development of Alumina-Forming Austenitic Stainless Steels
    Yukinori Yamamoto, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Nanoprecipitates via Internal Oxidation 
    Joachim Schneibel, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Room-Temperature Ductility Enhancement of Mo Alloys with Nano-Sized Metal Oxide Dispersions
    Bruce Kang, West Virginia University
  • Update on the Status of ODS Alloys for Fossil Energy Applications 
    Ian Wright, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Control of Defects and Microstructure in ODS Alloys
    Andrew Jones, University of Liverpool
  • Oxide Dispersion Strengthened Alloys for Fossil Energy Applications 
    Bimal Kad, University of California - San Diego
  • Development of Fireside Corrosion Models for Advanced Combustion Systems
    Steve Kung, Babcock & Wilcox Company

Session 2

  • Materials Performance in CO2 and CO2-Steam Environments 
    Ken Natesan, Argonne National Laboratory
  • Steam Turbine Materials and Corrosion 
    Gordon Holcomb, National Energy Technology Laboratory
  • Materials and Component Development for Advanced Turbine Systems 
    Mary Anne Alvin, National Energy Technology Laboratory
  • Advanced Pressure Boundary Materials 
    Michael Santella, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Advanced Processing of Metallic Powders for Fossil Energy Applications 
    Iver Anderson, Ames Laboratory, Iowa State University
  • Computational and Experimental Development of Novel High Temperature Alloys 
    Matthew J. Kramer, Ames Laboratory and Iowa State University
  • Advanced Materials Research in the European Community
    John Oakey, Cranfield University

Session 3

  • Performance of Al-Rich Oxidation-Resistant Coatings for Fe-Base Alloys
    Ying Zhang, Tennessee Technological University
  • Development of Metallic Slurry Coatings
    Beth Armstrong, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Development of Nondestructive Evaluation Methods for Thermal Barrier Coatings 
    J.G. Sun, Argonne National Laboratory
  • Aluminide Coatings for Power Generation Applications 
    Ying Zhang, Tennessee Technological University
  • Microstructure, Processing, Performance Relationships for High Temperature Coatings
    Thomas Lillo, Idaho National Laboratory
  • Computational Modeling and Assessment of NanoCoatings for UltraSupercritical Boilers
    Kent Coleman, Electric Power Research Institute (EPRI)

Session 4

  • Commercial Process for Silicon Carbide Fibrils 
    Richard Nixdorf, ReMaxCo Technologies, Inc.
  • Development of a Porous Support for Thin Palladium Membranes
    Stephen Paglieri, Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • Sealing/Joining Technology for Gas Separation Membranes
    K. Scott Weil, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  • Integrated Design of Refractory Metal Based Alloys for Fossil Energy Applications
    Omer Dogan, National Energy Technology Laboratory
  • The Wear and Corrosion of the High Chrome Oxide Linings used in Air-Cooled, Slagging Coal Gasifiers
    Cynthia Powell, National Energy Technology Laboratory
  • Closing Remarks
    Robert Romanosky, National Energy Technology Laboratory

NETL Conference Services Information 
National Energy Technology Laboratory 
Phone: (412) 386-6044 FAX: (412) 386-6486