3rd Thermal-Mechanical-Chemical Energy Storage Workshop

August 10-11, 2021 San Antonio, Texas

Klaus Brun, Elliott Group

Chair

Timothy Allison, Southwest Research Institute

Co-Chair

3rd Thermal-Mechanical-Chemical Energy Storage Workshop Agenda Day 1 – Tuesday, August 10, 2021

7:30 – 8:15 Registration and Breakfast 8:15 – 8:30 Welcome and Introduction/Safety **Dr. Klaus Brun** – Elliott Group, Conference Chair Adam Hamilton - SwRI, President and CEO 8:30 – 9:00 **Keynote Speaker** Joe Stekli – EPRI 9:00 – 9:30 Keynote Speaker – U.S. DOE Energy Storage and Electric Grid Initiatives Michael Pesin - DOF 9:30 – 10:00 Technical Presentation – TMCES Technology Overview and Research Activities **Dr. Tim Allison** – SwRI, Conference Co-chair 10:00 – 10:15 Break 10:15 – 10:45 Technical Presentation – Hydrogen Pipelines & Storage Dr. Rainer Kurz – Solar Turbines 10:45 – 12:15 Panel Session – Short Presentations/Technology Updates Joshua Schmitt - SwRI **Dr. Cliff Ho** – Sandia National Laboratories **Daniel Stack** – Electrified Thermal Solutions **Dr. Benjamin Bollinger** – Malta, Inc. Dr. Natalie Smith - SwRI **Dr. Todd Bandhauer** – Colorado State University **Shaun Sullivan** – Brayton Energy **Dr. Jeffrey Moore** – SwRI **Dr. Joerg Petrasch** – Michigan State University and RedoxBlox **Aaron Rimpel –** SwRI

12:15 - 1:00 Lunch

3rd Thermal-Mechanical-Chemical Energy Storage Workshop Agenda Day 1 – Tuesday, August 10, 2021

1:00 – 1:30 The Role of Energy Storage in Helping California Meet the State's Future Zero Carbon Energy Goals

Mike Gravely - California Energy Commission

1:30 – 2:00 Technical Presentation – Electrothermal Energy Storage System

Chris Fraughton – MAN Energy Solutions

2:00 – 2:30 Technical Presentation – Materials for Hydrogen Compression

Derrick Bauer – Elliott Group

2:30 - 2:45 Break

2:45 - 4:00 Panel Session - New Technology

Ben Jawdat – Revterra

Thomas Buscheck – Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory

Peter Luessen – Mitsubishi Hitachi Power Systems

Ben Peterson – EERC

Dr. William Conlon - Pintail Power

Bernard Winkelmann – Nikola Motor

4:00 - 4:30 Technical Presentation - Variable Blading in Closed-Cycle Brayton Energy Storage

Dr. Robert Laughlin - Stanford University

4:30 - 5:30 Open Forum Discussion

5:30 - 5:35 Closing Comments Day 1

Dr. Klaus Brun - Elliott Group, Conference Chair

Dr. Tim Allison – SwRI, Conference Co-chair

3rd Thermal-Mechanical-Chemical Energy Storage Workshop Agenda Day 2 – Wednesday, August 11, 2021

7:30 - 8:15 Breakfast

8:15 - 8:20 Welcome/Recap Day 1

Dr. Klaus Brun - Elliott Group, Conference Chair

8:20 – 8:50 Technical Presentation - Compressed Air Energy Storage

Robert Bailie - Siemens Energy

8:50 – 9:20 Keynote Speaker – Energy Storage Evolution in California

Natasha Keefer - Clean Power Alliance

9:20 – 9:50 Technical Presentation – Development of sCO2 Turbomachinery and its Application to Energy Storage

Dr. Jeffrey Moore – SwRI

9:50 - 10:05 Break

10:05 – 10:35 Technical Presentation – Heat Exchangers for Thermal Energy Storage: Challenges and Mitigation

Tony Bowdery – Heatric

10:35 – 11:35 Panel Session – Storage Deployment

Mike Matson - Storworks Power

Richard Brody - Quidnet Energy

Dr. Timothy Held – Echogen Power Systems

Russ Weed - Advanced Rail Energy Storage

Peter Luessen – Mitsubishi Hitachi Power Systems

11:35 – 11:45 **Closing and Wrap-up**

Dr. Klaus Brun - Elliott Group, Conference Chair

Thank you to the TMCES Workshop Organizing Committee

Klaus Brun, Chair Elliott Group Scott Hume EPRI

Briggs White, Co-Chair DOE Carlos Koeneke Mitsubishi Power

Tim Allison, Co-Chair SwRI Rainer Kurz Solar Turbines

Mark Anderson University of Wisconsin Renaud Le Pierres Meggitt PLC

Robert Bailie Siemens Dorothea Martinez SwRI

Christy Bash Elliott Group Josh McTigue NREL

Derrick Bauer Elliott Group Rachel Pyle Elliott Group

Rich Dennis DOE Bhima Sastri DOE

Arnold Feldman ASME/JJDS Environment Joe Stekli EPRI

Chris Fraughton MAN Energy Solutions USA Inc. Craig Turchi NREL

Sebastian Freund Energiefreund Consulting David Voss Solar Turbines

Tim Held Echogen Karl Wygant Hanwha

Douglas Hofer Heliogen

Thanks to Southwest Research Institute for hosting and sponsoring this event.



Thanks to the National Energy Technology Laboratory (NETL) and the U.S. DOE Office of Fossil Energy for their leadership and organizational support of the workshop.





Thank you to Elliott Group for providing administrative and logistical support for this workshop.



Thanks for attending.

Let's have two productive days.

Klaus Brun, Elliott Group kbrun@Elliott-turbo.com +1 (210) 262-2213