Awards & Recognition

Mercury Removal from Coal-Derived Gases
Evan J. Granite is a Research Group Leader at the Department of Energy‘s National Energy Technology Laboratory (NETL), USA; Technical Coordinator for NETL’s in-house research on Rare Earth Detection and Recovery; and an Adjunct Research Professor of Chemical and Petroleum Engineering at the University of Pittsburgh, USA (volunteer position). He completed postdoctoral research at the Department of Energy, received a PhD in Chemical Engineering from the University of Rochester, and BS and MS degrees in Chemical Engineering from The Cooper Union. His research has focused on mercury, trace contaminant, and carbon dioxide removal from flue and fuel gases. He is the principal or co-investigator for projects on the capture of mercury, arsenic, selenium, phosphorus, cadmium, and antimony from recovery from solids. He has coauthored 38 peer-reviewed journal articles, eight patents/patents pending, 205 conference papers and presentations, and 49 DOE reports of invention. His research interests are in separation technologies; pollution clean-up; catalysis and surface chemistry; photochemistry; electrochemistry; energy/utility systems; capture, storage, and utilization of carbon dioxide; and detection and recovery of rare earth elements from coal-derived streams.

NAGC Bestows Two Blue Pencil Gold Screen Awards for NETL Publications
NETL took home two prestigious National Association of Government Communicators’ 2014 Blue Pencil & Gold Screen Awards from the Association’s Annual Awards Banquet, held June 12 in Washington, D.C.

NETL Researcher to Receive National Award for Innovation in Gas Separation Technology
An innovation that could lead to a more efficient and cost-effective technology for reducing greenhouse gases at energy-producing facilities has garnered significant national recognition for a National Energy Technology Laboratory (NETL) researcher.

Excellence in Environment, Security, Safety, and Health Award Winners Announced

The Office of Fossil Energy is proud to announce this year's recipients of its Excellence in Environment, Security, Safety and Health Award.

Duane Johnson, Jordan Jones, Todd Demaris, Dale Paff, Pitt Tarrant, Cheryl Tarrant, Kevin Cannon, Rick Shutt, Jerry Packard, and Larry Barela of the Strategic Petroleum Reserve received an award for the Protective Force &"Supervisor Surveillance Program.”

The Pittsburgh Federal Executive Board Honors NETL with Eight Awards
NETL took home one team and seven individual awards at the 31st Annual Pittsburgh Federal Executive Board (FEB) Excellence in Government Awards Program Luncheon at the Westin Convention Center in Pittsburgh.